You are here: Home > Visit Us > Visitor Information > Family Visits
Translate Website:

Family Visits

Spend happy days exploring magical woodland paths, picnicking by the lake and discovering flowers and wildlife in the Walled Garden.

Discover the House and Grounds with the help of Geoffrey the Lion’s illustrated trails including a spotter sheet to help you identify items in the House, a woodland trail in the grounds, and puzzles.

Ride the land train through the grounds to the lakeside play area and let off steam on the swings, slides, towers and bridges of the high-energy Adventure Playground.

The nearby Boathouse Café serves snacks and drinks and you are welcome to enjoy your own picnic at the tables by the playground. Enjoy an ice cream from the kiosk or a sweet treat from the Coffee Shop in our Stable Courtyard. Alternatively, pick up a ready prepared lunch box from the house Fitzroy Restaurant or choose from the children's menu at our Courtyard Café.

Castle Howard’s Adventure Playground is packed with swings, slides, towers and bridges for a high energy burst of activity.
Castle Howard's NEW treetop adventure across the dormant water of the Great Lake. A series of ingenious treetop nest structures, connected by rope bridges, slides, nets and climbing equipment suitable for all ages. Skelf Island is included within a gardens admission ticket...
wasp

Practical Information

Bikes and scooters: We regret that bikes, children's scooters, or other similar ‘transport’ toys are not allowed in the grounds due to the amount of Estate traffic and pedestrian visitors on the drive and around walkways and paths.

Pushchairs: We regret that pushchairs are not permitted in the House, but they can be stored in a pushchair holding area in the House Entrance. 'Hip-seats' can be borrowed to assist in carrying children (6 months - 3 years old) through the house.

Baby-changing facilities: Our facilities can be found in the House, Lakeside and Courtyard toilets.

Sat 16th Nov 2019 - Wed 18th Dec 2019
Indulge in a delicious Christmas Afternoon Tea, featuring a variety of delicate festive treats made using the highest quality local produce.
Sat 16th Nov 2019 - Sun 5th Jan 2020
Creative Designer, Charlotte Lloyd Webber and her team are back for another year with a theme of A Christmas Masquerade.
Sat 23rd Nov 2019 - Mon 23rd Dec 2019
Make Christmas memories that will last a life time with a visit to see Father Christmas at our popular Fireside Audiences
Sat 30th Nov 2019 - Sun 22nd Dec 2019
Father Christmas is taking up residence in the cosy Courtyard Grotto.
Sun 1st Dec 2019 - Mon 23rd Dec 2019
Add a touch of magic to your Christmas with our exclusive evening with Father Christmas.
Sat 14th Dec 2019
Join us to enjoy the Strictly Come Dancing Final on Saturday 14th December 2019. We will be showing the Final of the BBC's much loved dancing spectacular live in the comfort of the Grecian Hall.
Sat 14th Dec 2019
Visit on one of our Twilight Evenings and discover Castle Howard in a new light as night falls as we stay open in to the Evening.
Mon 16th Dec 2019
The ultimate Christmas at Castle Howard experience. A sumptuous afternoon tea in the elegant Grecian Hall, followed by a private House tour with Creative Director, Charlotte Lloyd Webber.
Sat 21st Dec 2019
Visit on one of our Twilight Evenings and discover Castle Howard in a new light as night falls as we stay open in to the Evening.
Wed 25th Dec 2019
Join us on Wednesday 25th December for our Christmas Day Service in the Castle Howard Chapel.
Sat 25th Jan 2020 - Sun 26th Jan 2020
York Residents’ Festival is your chance to explore and discover tourist attractions on your door for free.
Sat 25th Jan 2020
Join our Curator Dr Chris Ridgway for a unique glimpse behind the scenes at the House from a completely different and exciting perspective.
Sat 15th Feb 2020
The first of our 2020 Dark Skies festival events will feature Prof Andy Newsam, as he guides you through some of the mysteries and wonders in the night sky. Enjoy a talk and star gazing as we once again host this fantastic initiative organised by the North York Moors National Park.
Wed 19th Feb 2020
Join our Curator Dr Chris Ridgway for a unique glimpse behind the scenes at the House from a completely different and exciting perspective.
Fri 21st Feb 2020
Join local photographer Steve Bell to learn how to shoot stunning night time images as part of the Dark Skies Festival 2020!
Sat 22nd Feb 2020
Join us for a night run around the Castle Howard Estate as part of the Dark Skies Festival 2020.
Sun 23rd Feb 2020
Join local photographer Steve Bell to learn how to shoot stunning night time images as part of the Dark Skies Festival 2020!
Fri 13th Mar 2020
Enjoy a day like no other, as our Curator takes you on a journey across Castle Howard's monumental landscape, with a rare chance to see inside some of the Follies around the Estate. After, enjoy lunch in the Grecian Hall and exclusive access to archive material.
Sat 21st Mar 2020
The House reopens for the season on Saturday 21st March 2020.
Sun 12th Apr 2020
Join us on Sunday 12th April for our Easter Sunday Service in the Castle Howard Chapel.
Fri 8th May 2020 - Sun 10th May 2020
With plenty to entertain all the family, and of course our canine visitors too, join us from 8th-10th May for a packed programme of dog themed events.
Sat 23rd May 2020 - Mon 25th May 2020
Following on from the success of 2019's event, the Traction Engine Rally returns in May 2020.
Sat 6th Jun 2020 - Sun 7th Jun 2020
We welcome The Knights of Royal England for an action packed weekend of spectacular Jousting Tournaments.
Sun 21st Jun 2020
Set within the grounds of Castle Howard, the Father’s Day Classic Car & Motor Show offers a spectacular day of motoring heritage ideal for enthusiasts, day trippers and families.
Fri 26th Jun 2020 - Mon 29th Jun 2020
As Evelyn Waugh’s seminal novel turns 75, we invite you for a celebration of this masterpiece of 20th century fiction and screen. Featuring a stellar line up of writers, biographers, leading actors and crew, and including screenings, discussion panels, performances and exclusive tours, The Brideshead Festival will be a weekend like no other.
Sat 25th Jul 2020 - Sun 26th Jul 2020
Join us for a weekend of running, biking and swimming across the grounds of Castle Howard.
Thu 6th Aug 2020 - Sun 9th Aug 2020
BBC Countryfile Live returns for a second year to Castle Howard.
Sat 22nd Aug 2020
Set in the magnificent Gardens of Castle Howard, this spectacular classical concert will be a night to remember for the whole family.
Thu 17th Sep 2020 - Sun 20th Sep 2020
We are delighted to host the World Sheepdog Trials in September 2020.

Family Fun at Castle Howard